0 492

The North Atlantic Treaty Organization is a politico-military alliance established in 1949, by the North Atlantic Treaty signed in Washington on April 4, 1949. It currently comprises 29 states in Europe and North America. The Partnership for Peace program, an important initiative for European security, especially for the countries of Central and Eastern Europe that had been in a security vacuum in the early 1990s, became accessible to the Republic of Moldova on March 16, 1994, after the Framework Document was signed. On December 8, 2017, the NATO Liaison Office was opened in Chisinau, which raised the dissatisfaction of President Igor Dodon who said he would be closed.

Relevant sources:



Opinii ENG